TESTIMONIALS

We are so tremendously happy with the feedback our clients give us. We invite you to check them out at zicasso.com. Here you will find the last 20 reviews.

CHECK ALL THE REVIEWS AT ZICASSO


Review by Monica P. on 6.25.2019

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our trip planner did an outstanding job of creating the prefect customized trip. My husband and I had looked at organized tours, but in the end, for about the same money, we did exactly what we wanted to do. Our trip included travel to six cities (Madrid, Toledo, Seville, Cordoba, Granda and Barcelona) in 12 days. The transportation to and from each city was well executed and made the trip so enjoyable.  The guides in each city were local and provided lots of history in addition to personal stories about their home towns. Our wine and tapas tour in Madrid was such a success, that some of group met up the next night for dinner. The hotel recommendations exceeded our expectations for location, amenities and service. In addition, each hotel provided a large breakfast buffet with bread, meat, cheese, jamon, eggs, fresh fruit and juices. We had plenty of options to fuel our morning tours and hold us over until the 2pm lunch hour. We walked about ten miles each day and ate tapas and drank Sangria at almost every meal!

In addition, the trip planner checked in with us multiple times during the trip to verify all was going well. Overall one of our best vacations!!

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

We booked a private car to take us from Seville to Granada with a stop in Cordoba for 4 hours of sightseeing. The driver and the tour guide did an amazing job of coordinating the plan. We had a very relaxing drive which allowed us to see the countryside and recharge on our way to Cordoba. While there we had the opportunity to eat Salmorejo Cordobes and taste local olive oil. Muy Bien!!

Also, dont miss La Boqueria in Barcelona – 2 people can eat and drink your way through the market for under 30 euro!

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

When we go back to Spain, because we definitely will, we would plan a few different activities like a cooking class or a winery tour.


Review by Robert A. on 6.20.2019

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our trip planners exceeded our expectations.  The guidance we received in planning our trip was excellent!  Every detail was considered.  Questions were answered promptly.  The actual trip was perfectly executed.  Drivers, guides and hotels were all outstanding!  I highly recommend this travel company (and the trip planner)!

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

It’s hard to pick because the whole trip was outstanding. The guides in Seville, Ronda and Madrid were knowledgeable, fun and generous with their time and expertise!

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

No.  I would work with this travel company again.  They are the top 1%


Review by Judi P. on 5.29.2019

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

The trip was amazing. Our expectations were continuously exceeded. This travel company and our rep did an excellent job in creating a marvelous itinerary. All arrangements made by the travel company for regional guides, transportation, hotels, and tours went perfectly. We could not have been more pleased.  Our travel rep checked in with us from time to time along the trip just to ensure that we were having a great time, and had no issues. This kind of care and concern is extraordinary, and much appreciated.

The Spanish history and cultural background that our Madrid guide taught us guided our appreciation, and understanding, throughout our entire trip, as we journeyed to other cities that were key to the centuries of Spain’s remarkable history. I never had a proper appreciation of the global influence that Spain has had over the centuries.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

The itinerary that you set up for us was outstanding. We were constantly amazed by the history, culture and architectural wonders that we experienced. Visiting Spain is especially impressive for people like ourselves, from  the United States. We have a short history here, with no influence from royalty, or all of the wonders of the Roman, Medieval, and Renaissance periods.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

We would change nothing, except to have made it longer!


Review by Jan C. on 4.2.2019

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

This was the most exceptional experience I have ever had, it exceeded all expectations.  This tour company and our travel planner could not have been more organized and detail oriented.  From the time we stepped off the plane in Spain to the end of our contract in Barcelona–six towns and ten days later–every detail was handed with professionalism.  This is a top rate travel company with what we considered very reasonable rates. All the reservations they made, from cars booked to hotels reserved to travel guides were high quality. Communication with our travel planner was easy in English and he really listened to our needs and interests. I highly recommend this company.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

All the travel guides hired were knowledgeable and very professional.  I think our guide in Sevilla was our favorite, such an intellect, but we loved them all. They covered the Jewish history of Spain, which was our interest, very completely even though it is not a history the Spanish are proud of. We fell in love with Spain: its beauty and the lovely people we met on the trip.  As far as hotels, I would have to say the hotel in Sevilla was our favorite.  Sevilla was so lovely, would have enjoyed an extra day there. Also, the app with all the details of the trip was amazing.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

It is very hard to hit the ground running on the day you arrive, there needs to be some time to acclimate to the time change.  I would allow for that and provide the first day with much free time to rest and wander.  Really loved Madrid, would have liked more days there to spend more time at The Prado and the Botanical Garden et al. But we did so much in a very short time and saw so much, and that was wonderful. Segovia was not so memorable and the tour guide there was the weakest, could have skipped that. Would have rather spent that day in Madrid.


Review by Tom B. on 4.1.2019

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our trip planner was terrific to work with, provided a great itinerary and very good with communication both before and during our trip.  Would definitely recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to use again.  We had not been to Spain previously and our trip planner provided us with a terrific trip, visiting Madrid, Toledo, Segovia, Seville, Cordoba, Granada and Barcelona.  Very much appreciated having travel within Spain arranged (train, private car and plane) and appreciated the car transport arranged to and from airport for our arrival and departure.  We had private guides in each of the cities which was very helpful.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

The entire trip was terrific, but the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona was one of the most amazing things that I’ve ever seen.  Was very helpful to have guide at this site to explain several important features of the church and it’s decorations.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Was a great exposure for our first trip to Spain.  Would not do much different and did enjoy couple extra days in Barcelona at end.


Review by Igor G. on 10.17.2018

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

We did a 2 week trip through Spain focused on wine and gastronomy, as well as sightseeing. Our travel planner did a a great job coordinating the logistics of the trip as well as advising on unique winery experiences, restaurants and other experiences. There was quite a bit of logistical planning given our relatively tight schedule and the desire to maximize our time and, apart from a minor hiccup of going to the wrong train station in Taraggona, all the logistics went very smoothly. The guides were excellent and very informative and went above and beyond the planned experience. I would highly recommend this company for anyone planning a customized itinerary / private tour in Spain, particularly one with multiple appointments in different locations requiring a high degree of temporal coordination.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

Visiting smaller wineries in Priorat, as well as Ribero del Duero and Rioja, meeting and sipping wine with the winemakers, the scenery and views in the Basque country and Priorat, fine dining, the razor clams and giant prawns at the market in Barcelona, and of course, going to Santiago Bernabeu to see Real Madrid play.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Less time in Barcelona and more in other smaller, more manageable locations (ie. small towns in Basque country or Catalyunia).


Review by Will G. on 9.30.2018

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

We couldn’t have asked for a better experience.  Our travel planner designed as close to a perfect tour as could be expected and then  went out of his way to ensure that everything went as smooth as possible. We, without a doubt, would choose this company again for any future vacations in Spain or Portugal.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

This is hard to say.  All the tours were excellent and the tour guides knowledgeable and helpful.  Exceptional were the tapas tour in Madrid, the guided visits in Barcelona to the Sagrada Familia and Montserrat, and the entire experiece in San Sebastian.  We have visited Spain before and our objective this vacation was to get to “know” Spain.  Our objective was met.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Spend more time in San Sebastián and leave it for the last place to visit before returning home.  A perfect place to relax.


Review by CD W. on 10.18.2017

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

If I could, I would give this travel agency an even higher rating.

Our trip was wonderful thanks to excellent assistance with planning our trip, attention to detail that ensured that everything planned occurred as planned, check-ins once we had arrived, and timely and thorough responses to any questions we raised during our trip.

We would highly recommend this company and are looking forward to another opportunity to use their services.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

There were six people in our family group; and I think that each of us might pick a different «most enjoyable» part because there were many such parts. For me, the most memorable parts were the guided tours we took with guides who were knowledgeable, adept at sharing what they knew, and personable. Of the sites we visited, I would pick two: the Alhambra in Granada and the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Stay longer!


Review by Heather H. on 10.16.2017

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our travel company, especially our personal agent, listened to all our requests and gave us several options for many of the activities that we could select from. The Google Maps (that our agent included for us) in our package waiting at our hotel in Madrid, was the nicest touch. That simple gesture made me feel that this was an agent that wanted to make sure my trip was as easy and enjoyable as possible. The trip that he helped us create was truly a trip of a lifetime.  We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and our trip had moments for us that were…..almost as special….as that happy day!

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

We loved driving through the countryside of Spain, especially the wine regions of La Ribera del Duro  and  La Rioja.  We wanted a free-movement  holiday — so, given the options of train or rental , we opted for rental.   WOW !    ( It also allowed us to «pop» over to France for lunch….St. Jean-de-Luz….beautiful.)   The second most memorable part of our trip was the cooking class in San Sebastian – TOP RATE !…….and then there was El Prado in Madrid and the wine caves in La Ribera………my list could go on !

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

I would have taken two more days. One in The Monastery in San Bernardo and one in the La Rioja area. I found it a little busy to be driving and immediately upon arrival to have to go on tour.  This was an oversight on our part.  Had we met with any construction, etc, we would have missed the Wine tours.   Plus, the accommodations were so beautiful.  I definitely could have spent another day in each.


Review by Meg S. on 9.29.2017

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our travel agent created a wonderful and seamless trip to Spain. We had an idea of which cities we wanted to visit and our agent helped refine the route and length of stay. He also suggested places we wouldn’t have known about, arranged for all transportation, guides, and tickets to attractions like Sagrada Famalia and the Alhambra. It was one of our best trips ever and I would recommend this company to anyone interested in visiting Spain!


Review by Erica K. on 7.23.2017

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

This travel company and the agent who worked with us did a wonderful job designing a trip that suited the interests of my family (including two high school daughters).  I am really glad we opted to work with a local travel agent who could book individual tours, hotels, transfers, etc.  When we had questions/concerns during our trip, the agency was quick to respond and help us resolve any issues.  I would highly recommend this company to anyone traveling in Spain.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

Every location we visited had amazing highlights and we had outstanding tours and accommodations everywhere we went.  Seville was probably our favorite city/town overall.  The Gaudi tour in Barcelona was captivating and visually stunning.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

I’m not sure there is much we would have done differently.  While I wish we had more time there, at the end of 10 days, we were all exhausted and ready to head home.  There is just so much to see and do.


Review by Dennis H. on 10.23.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our agent and his travel copany did an excellent job putting our trip together.  And they were with us throughout and provided excellent help when we ran into some medical trouble.  Excellent company and excellent service.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

All of the guides selected for us and most of the transfer drivers were excellent.  They were friendly, eager to tell us about Spain and their areas of interest and helpful in all regards.  So we remember people as well as places.

As for locations, we enjoyed a tapas tour in Madrid, a personally guided tour of Toledo, and of course, the Gaudi buildings, cathedral and park in Barcelona.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Nothing.


Review by Margaret R. on 10.14.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

This is the first time we (my husband and I) used a travel agent to fully book our holiday itinerary.  I usually do the research to book everything myself but I didn’t have the time and since it’s our first time visiting Spain, thought we would give travel agent route a try. We were given 2 companies through Zicasso and decide to go with this agency as I thought our agent was giving me a bit more of direction on what could be missed and what we shouldn’t miss based on our discussion.

Our original plan was either to do Madrid and Barcelona or just head to Seville and Cordoba. In the end, we decided we wanted to go to San Sebastian (as we are total foodies) and Barcelona. It was advised by the travel agent, if we could, we should not miss Madrid. I didn’t want to break the trip up too much trying to see too many cites when we only had 8 nights. We did end up with one night in Madrid, 3 nights in San Sebastian and 4 nights in Barcelona. We were glad we got a day in Madrid, the tour of Prado and Habsburg district was fantastic. We arrived in the late morning to enjoy the city a bit on our own before our tour in the late afternoon and ended with a delightful light meal at our guide’s recommendation near where we ended our tour. This would have been missed had the agent not encourage us to visit Madrid.

Unfortunately, I had injured myself a month prior to our trip and could not manage long walks and asked our agent’s help in finding scooters in each city. He did a bit of research and found companies in each of the cities and took care of the all the bookings and delivery to the hotels. We had a slight problem in San Sebastian with the type of scooter they sent but I emailed the agent and he took care of contacting the company and try to sort, even responding to my email on Sunday.

We always felt we had someone in the same country and same time zone that could help if we were in a bind that knew the details of our trip to assist and tweak as needed. I think we would have had a great trip to Spain planning on our own but using this agency made it a fantastic trip. Everything was seamless, the drivers were all professional and on time, the guides were fantastic and the hotels were great. Would  not hesitate to use them again for our next trip to Spain…maybe back to Barcelona after Sagrada Família is completed. I would highly recommend this company.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

All the tours were memorable and having private tours made a big difference.  The guides were wonderful; we felt like we had a distant colleague  at each of the cities, where we knew no one, who welcomed us and showed us around. We learned a lot about each places and never felt rushed and were at very good pace. We also had enough free times to wonder on our own and explore.

Great moments: Going to Prado to see Velázquez, Greco, Goya etc…; walking though beautiful San Sebastian and eating our way through the Pintxos bars where we didn’t have to point at food on the counter but eating what was best at each bar by someone who knew what to order; Rioja winery tours and visiting the town of LaGuardia with locals trying to help us find rosary (that was a priceless moment belonging in a scene from a movie); all the amazing architecture and art in Barcelona and our food tour that included such variety of food (did a lot of gift shopping while on this tour) and finally, a memorable meal a Michelin Star restaurant.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Couple things we would have done differently, would like to have dined at one of the Michelin Star to just experience that in the Basque region. We did Barcelona as the last city due to the hotel we really wanted to stay being fully booked during the earlier part of the week. This hit our San Sebastian stop as first part of our trip ( Sun – Tue)  the problem is that if you want to hit any of the Michelin star restaurants, they are mostly closed Sunday – Tuesday, which I was not aware when deciding. Our cooking class, due to schedule issues ended up being a private class, we had fun and ate very well but would have enjoyed a group class….cooking and eating is very social.


Review by Mark K. on 10.5.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

This travel agent and his company did an excellent job of putting our trip together and providing us with caring service. I would highly recommend their services. They provided exceptional hotels, transportation services and guides on our private tours who had exceptional knowledge of the areas and helped make our trip a very successful one.

They listened carefully to what we were looking for and delivered in every respect helping to provide us with a great trip. I would use their services again without hesitation.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

There were many aspects of the trip that exceeded expectations, the hotels were just as we hoped,small, boutique and locally staffed and the knowledgeable guides really helped us get a sense of how the locals live as well as the real story behind the well known sites of interest.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

I wouldn’t change anything other then to try to extend our time to see even more of the country.


Review by Abhishek P. on 6.20.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our agent was a pleasure to deal with. Everything was arranged perfectly for our 15 day vacation in Spain. Great choices of hotels and activities.

Best of all throughout our trip their team was available on whatsapp to take care of any last minute reservations and coordination.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

Tapas tour in madrid, flamenco performance in Seville, bike ride in Marbella, gaudi tour in Barcelona to name a few.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

A more centrally located hotel in Marbella.


Review by Gavin W. on 6.18.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

This travel agency was an excellent partner in helping us plan a trip of a lifetime to Spain. Their insight and thoughtfulness was seen throughout our itinerary, allowing us a seamless and stressfree vacation. We will definitely use them for our future travels.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

We truly enjoyed both Ibiza and Barcelona. The locations, accommodations and activities were incredible with much more to see on a much needed return trip

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

If we were to do the trip again we would allocate our time differently amongst the cities we visited. Some of the monuments visited we visited we very similar and could have been consolidated. More free time on the back end of our trip would have allowed for a more relaxed wind down to our travels.


Review by Michael K. on 6.8.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

This travel agency was excellent.  Our travel coordinator took care of all details and checked on us twice during our trip.  I highly recommend this company for trips to Spain.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

Valencia and Granada.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

Nothing.


Review by Michael V. on 6.1.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our holiday to Spain was flawless thanks to our agent and all of his expert insights and advice. I can honestly say he took a personal interest in our wants and desires and tailored the perfect hotels, guides and suggestions based solely on our interest and likes.

Well done. We will use you and your firm again.

Regards,
Michael V

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

Our trip to Priorat was very special as was our entire trip. We look forward to visiting Barcelona and Seville again.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

We would spend a little less time in Madrid and more time in Seville and Barcelona.


Review by Christie K. on 4.15.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

Our travel agency did a fantastic job planning our itinerary based on our interests and customized it the way we like it. The entire of 10 days trip in Spain went really smoothly.   Staff were very professional and fantastic service from our drivers even though some only speak very minimal English.   Our tour guide from each city were very experienced and very informative.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

Our day trip to Toledo was one of the more memorable one, as well as the cooking class we had in Barcelona.

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

if we were to do it again, we probably would add one more night to each city we visited.  And we would highly recommend Zicasso and this travel agency to our family and friends.


Review by Ann S. on 2.23.2016

Your overall comments on the trip and the travel company:

I contacted Zicasso and was referred to two different travel companies. It was apparent from the first contact I had with our agent that he understood exactly what type of trip I was trying to put together.  We were taking a cruise which was ending in Barcelona and were wanting to extend our stay by traveling on our own in Spain.  Through an exchange of e-mails, in which I was asked very relevant questions by our agent, the perfect trip was created.  He got back to me with recommendations and additional questions when necessary in a timely fashion.  I felt he really understood what type of travelers we are and that he went out of his way to create the perfect trip for us.  He also had no issues or concerns at working within our very defined time frame.  He even had all of our paperwork waiting for us at our first hotel as we weren’t home during the time frame he would have normally sent it to us!  And, he checked on us several times during our trip to make sure everything was going well, a personal touch we really appreciated.

What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?

We loved the variety of traveling styles we were able to participate in.  Not only did we have a private driver for the trip from Granada to Seville, by way of Cordoba but we were able to take the high speed train to Madrid and a flight on Vueling from Barcelona.  Planes, Trains and Automobiles, what fun!

We also really appreciated the small, boutique hotels we were able to stay in.  The staff at each one went out of their way to make us feel welcome and spoke enough English, coupled with our minimal Spanish, for us to feel comfortable in venturing out on our own!  They were all conveniently located within walking distance of everything we wished to do with lots of dining choices also close by.

The opportunity to have private tours was wonderful.  All of our guides were amazing but Manuel in Seville really stood  out for us.  Being able to make a personal connection with each of these local guides was a highlight for us.  The fact that all of them were from the cities they were sharing with us really made a difference. We felt very much like we were on a tour of the local sites with a friend and the love and pride they each had for their home was evident!

If you could take your trip again, what would you do differently?

We had a very specified time line and feel like we had enough time in Granada and Seville, we would have liked at least one more day in Madrid however.  This just gives us an excuse to return at some point in the future!   Beyond this, which is in no way a reflection of our travel company, we had the perfect trip!